Dark Star

Prerequisite: Deva

At 11th level, your redeemed deva takes on the dark star paragon path. Freeing oneself from corruption is no guarantee against returning to evil, and no one knows this better than does the fallen deva. Reclaiming your deva form does nothing to dispel those memories and experiences from your time as rakshasa. The wicked memories lurk in your thoughts, urging you to indulge in deviant acts, to embrace vice and wickedness, and to succumb to evil’s temptation once more.
    Your dark memories haunt you. Try as you might, you cannot silence the voices nor can you suppress the experiences you found in your fallen state. As you were once able, you can still call upon the memories you carry to aid you, but in addition to the other deva lifetimes, you also can draw upon your time as rakshasa as well. Drawing from these recollections places you at risk of falling once more, but provided you remain fixed toward your path, perhaps one day you will overcome the shame you must shoulder.
    Devas know their redeemed brethren as dark stars, so named for their new ascendancy toward virtue and also for the evil shadowing their souls. Devas are, of course, rare in the world and so dark stars are even rarer—so scarce most might believe them representative of the entire race. As a dark star, you must ever contend with your unpleasant memories while working to earn the redemption you have received.


    Excruciating Transposition (11th level): You gain the excruciating transposition power.
    Horrifying Action (11th level): When you spend an action point to take an action, you can use memory of a thousand lifetimes once that turn without expending its use or even if you have used it already during this encounter. Enemies adjacent to you when you spend the action point cannot make opportunity attacks against you until the start of your next turn.
    Maddening Delusion (11th level): When you use memory of a thousand lifetimes to add to an attack and that attack hits, the target takes a -2 penalty to its attack rolls and grants combat advantage until the end of your next turn.
    Tangled Fate (12th level): You gain the tangled fate power.
    Vile Rebirth (16th level): Once per day, when you make a death saving throw, you can add +10 to the saving throw after you roll it. Then, until the end of the encounter, you lose resistance to radiant damage.
    Soul Scourge (20th level): You gain the soul scourge power.

Dark Star Attack 11Excruciating Transposition

You punish a foe’s ambition by twisting fate so it becomes the target of its own attack.

Encounter        Psychic, Teleportation
Immediate Interrupt      Ranged 10

Trigger: An enemy hits you with an attack.

Target: The triggering enemy

Attack: Primary ability + 4 vs. Will
    Level 21: Primary ability + 6 vs. Will

Hit: You and the target teleport to swap positions. The target’s triggering attack deals half damage to you, and the target takes psychic damage equal to half the attack’s damage.

Dark Star Utility 12Tangled Fate

You twist fate’s strings to compel it to serve your interests.

No Action      Ranged 5

Requirement: Your memory of a thousand lifetimes power must be unexpended.

Trigger: You use your memory of a thousand lifetimes power.

Target: One creature

Effect: Roll a d6. The next time the target makes an attack roll, ability check, skill check, or saving throw, you can add or subtract the number to or from the result as a free action.

Dark Star Attack 20Soul Scourge

You burn the flesh with painful light and scorch the soul with killing darkness.

Daily        Necrotic, Radiant
Standard Action      Area burst 2 within 10 squares

Target: Each creature in the burst

Attack: Primary ability + 6 vs. Will

Hit: 1d8 + primary ability modifier radiant damage, and ongoing 10 necrotic damage (save ends).

Miss: Half damage, and ongoing 5 necrotic damage (save ends).

Effect: Until the end of the encounter, your attacks deal 4 extra necrotic and radiant damage.

Published in Dragon Magazine 393.